Image title

HISTORY

CHRIS sports AG


HISTORY


CHRIS sports: Specialists who know what it's all about

A contagious passion for sports, high quality standards and outstanding speed in delivering orders have been hallmarks of CHRIS sports for more than two decades.

Alaska, April 1989: After the Junior World Championships, serviceman Christian "Chris" Bättig decided not to return home right away, but rather to fly on to Salt Lake City with a friend. Their mission: to pedal across the USA. Their vehicle: a mountain bike, which at the time was still relatively unknown in their Swiss homeland but was the perfect choice for them because it wasn't the asphalt highways that attracted the two cyclists, but rather the steep mountain trails and dusty desert paths that they were itching to try out with their wide, knobby tires. After three months, they had spent their last pennies and the two young men traveled back home – with both bikes checked as luggage.
During the first ride in Toggenburg, it quickly became apparent to Christian Bättig that their bikes were exotics in Switzerland, as the trend from North America hadn't quite arrived yet. At the same time, the young carpenter soon realized that the bikes were a big hit with outdoor sports enthusiasts. Things started happening really quickly after that. Driven by his own enthusiasm for the sport and a passion for quality materials, Christian Bättig tracked down the American manufacturer of his bike and became its Swiss importer practically overnight. Christian Bättig had bagged his first brand. 2015 CHRIS sports celebrated the 25th anniversary with Rocky Mountain.

From 2009 until 2017 CHRIS sports has been active in Germany. Due to strategic reasons, the parent company in Norway took over the distribution of Dæhlie in Germany and Austria itself from 2018 onwards.

The brand portfolio in Austria includes, Chrome, Keen, Mountain Hardware, New Balance and since mid-2018 also DUER. In Austria the sales team consists of a sales manager and two sales employees. The showroom in the Brandboxx in Bergheim/Salzburg is the central location where all the customers from Austria can view the new collections.

The logistics processes are carried out by our distribution center in Werndorf (Austria). As in Switzerland, professional logistics is also important for CHRIS sports in Austria.

In order to be able to use synergies efficiently, the Brand Management, Purchasing, Marketing, Customer Service and Back-Office at CHRIS sports are centralized in Münchwilen.

Today, CHRIS sports AG is a general distributor of 27 top brands.


Loading
Loading

Image title

GESCHICHTE

CHRIS sports AG


Geschichte


CHRIS sports: Spezialisten, die wissen, worauf es ankommt

Ansteckende Leidenschaft für den Sport, hoher Anspruch an Qualität und aussergewöhnliche Geschwindigkeit in der Auslieferung: Dafür steht CHRIS sports seit über zwei Jahrzehnten.

Alaska, April 1989: Der Servicemann Christian „Chris“ Bättig entscheidet sich, nach den Junioren-Weltmeisterschaften nicht direkt nach Hause zu reisen, sondern zusammen mit einem Freund nach Salt Lake City weiter zu fliegen. Ihre Mission: auf dem Velosattel durch die USA. Ihr Gefährt: ein Mountain Bike, wie es damals in der Schweizer Heimat noch wenig verbreitet war. Denn nicht die asphaltierten Highways locken die beiden in den Sattel – nein, es sind die steilen Gebirgspfade und die staubigen Wüstenpisten, die die beiden Freunde begeistert unter die breiten Räder nehmen. Nach drei Monaten ist das Portemonnaie leer. Die zwei jungen Männer reisen zurück in die Heimat – im Gepäck die beiden Bikes.

In der Schweiz sind sie Exoten. Das merkt Christian Bättig rasch auf den ersten Touren im Toggenburg. Der Trend aus Nordamerika ist noch nicht richtig übergeschwappt. Gleichzeitig wird dem jungen Zimmermann schnell klar, dass die Velos bei Outdoor-Sportlern sehr gut ankommen. Und dann geht es schnell: Angetrieben von der eigenen Begeisterung für den Sport und die Freude am guten Material macht Christian Bättig den amerikanischen Hersteller seines Bikes ausfindig und wird quasi über Nacht zu dessen Schweizer Importeur. Christian Bättig hat die erste Marke im Sack. 2015 feierte CHRIS sports das 25-jährige Jubiläum mit Rocky Mountain.

Von 2009 bis 2017 war CHRIS sports in Deutschland tätig. Aus strategischen Gründen hat das Mutterhaus in Norwegen ab 2018 den Vertrieb von Dæhlie in Deutschland und Österreich selber übernommen.
 
Zum Portfolio in Österreich gehören die Marken Chrome, Keen, Mountain Hardware, New Balance und seit Mitte 2018 auch DUER. In Österreich werden die Kunden durch den Verkaufsleiter sowie zwei Aussendienst-Mitarbeiter betreut. Der Showroom in der Brandboxx in Bergheim bei Salzburg ist die zentrale Anlaufstelle zur Kollektionssichtung.
 
Die Logistikprozesse erfolgen über unser Auslieferungslager in Werndorf (A). Wie in der Schweiz ist CHRIS sports auch in Österreich eine professionelle Logistik wichtig.

Um Synergien effizient nutzen zu können, sind die Bereiche Brand Management, Purchasing, Marketing, Customer Service sowie das Back Office bei CHRIS sports in Münchwilen zentralisiert.

Heute ist die CHRIS sports AG Generalimporteur von 27 Topbrands.

am Laden
am Laden